Advanced Level


International A Level is recognised worldwide as a requirement for entry into higher education. Study and examination at A Level give students in-depth knowledge and lifelong skills that prepare them for success in higher education and employment. 10 of the top universities in the world accept A Levels as entrance into their university (depending on marks achieved.)

International Recognition
International A Level and AS Level have widespread international recognition as educational qualifications. This recognition is because:
• International A and AS Level qualifications are recognised by universities as equivalent in value to UK A and AS Levels
• Good A and AS Level grades are vital for admission to all the world’s major English-speaking universities and many non-English-speaking
• A and AS Level are rigorous programmes that encourage high academic standards
• A and AS Levels have a high profile amongst English-medium international schools around the world

Should a student complete either Foundation or IGCSE in 1 year instead of 2 years, they can begin preparing for their A levels in Grade 11 when they start AS level. Depending on the student’s ability, they could complete their A levels in Grade 12. It takes a minimum of two years to complete A levels and requires tremendous determination.

In general, the following applies:

Grade 8/9 – Foundation: Checkpoint 1, 2 & 3
Grade 10 – IGCSE Core Syllabus in all 5 – 7 subjects
Grade 11 – IGCSE Extended Syllabus in all 5 – 7 subjects (C symbol or higher)
Grade 12 – AS Level in 4 or 5 subjects (minimum of 4 if applying for exemption; D symbol or higher)
Grade 13 – A Level in 2 or 3 subjects (E Symbol or higher)

The only compulsory AS level subject is English Language or English Language & Literature