IGCSE (Grade 10 & 11)

Cambridge IGCSE is an international curriculum that develops students’ skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem solving, and gives them excellent preparation for the next stage in their education. It is a qualification at school level that has been designed for 14 to 16 year olds.

Cambridge IGCSE provides a broad study programme by drawing subjects from five areas: Languages, Humanities, Social Sciences, Mathematics, Creative, Technical and Vocational. Within the curriculum there is a balanced mix of practical experience and theoretical knowledge. It was introduced in 1998 as a replacement for O levels and it aims to prepare students for further academic success, including progression to AS level and A level study, and equips them with skills for immediate employment. It is equivalent in standard to the British GCSE and is recognised as evidence of ability by academic institutions and employers worldwide.

In general, the following applies:

Grade 8/9 – Foundation: Checkpoint 1, 2 & 3
Grade 10 – IGCSE Core Syllabus in all 5 – 7 subjects
Grade 11 – IGCSE Extended Syllabus in all 5 – 7 subjects (C symbol or higher)
Grade 12 – AS Level in 4 or 5 subjects (minimum of 4 if applying for exemption; D symbol or higher)
Grade 13 – A Level in 2 or 3 subjects (E Symbol or higher)

Compulsory IGCSE Subjects (one from each group):

Group 1 – English Language or English Language & Literature

Group 2 – 2nd Language – Afrikaans, French or Isizulu

Group 3 – Mathematics, Biology, Physics or Chemistry